Main Page: EDUC970: Dissertation Literature Review: Finding Dissertations

Searching for Dissertations?

There are numerous places to search for dissertations. Why should you consider looking at dissertations?

They may be a source of inspiration!
You can see what types of research methods have been utilized. A dissertation would include a more complete description of the research methodology as compared to a journal article.
The literature review section of a dissertation may be a useful starting point.

Bryan College of Health Sciences Digital Archives

Bryan College of Health Sciences Graduate Capstones & Dissertations
Dissertations completed by graduates of the Bryan College of Health Sciences EdD program.

Finding Dissertations

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window
Proquest Dissertations & Theses is a database containing citations to U.S. doctoral dissertations and masters theses in the areas of Biological Sciences, Earth and Environmental Sciences, Health Services, Physical Sciences and Psychology. Access to full text disserations and theses is available beginning in 1997.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Search the entire ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Citation Index in the Web of Science.
OpenDissertations This link opens in a new window
OpenDissertations is an open-access database for locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses. It incorporates content from the previous database, American Doctoral Dissertations, and includes references to dissertations contributed by select worldwide colleges and universities. Dissertations date from the early 20th century to present.
Sigma Repository This link opens in a new window
The Sigma Repository is an open-access digital academic and clinical scholarship service that freely collects, preserves, and disseminates full-text nursing research and evidence-based practice materials. Selected capstones from the Bryan College School of Nurse Anesthesia are included in the collection.

Open Access Theses & Dissertations (https://oatd.org/)

Includes: Covers over 1100 institutions, over 4.6 million theses and dissertations
Access: Open access, no login required
Best use: Locating full-text, open access theses and dissertations
Note: Includes American universities not participating in ProQuest

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (http://search.ndltd.org)

Includes: Over 5.2 million dissertations from around the world
Access: Open access, no login required
Best use: Searching the largest number of dissertations and theses
Note: Not all dissertations and theses are available full-text

Google Scholar (http://scholar.google.com/)

You may find links to dissertations in search results. Links may lead to: a record in the Proquest Dissertations & Theses database; a record and link to a PDF in an institutional repository, a record in the Virginia Henderson repository, or somewhere else! NOTE: The BCHS Library subscription to Proquest Dissertations & Theses is only a subset of the dissertations that are available from the databases. It is quite possible that a search via Google Scholar would retrieve Proquest citations in which the library doesn't have full-text access.

Search tip: Use "Advanced Search". Use broad search terms and try limiting the search to "in the title of the article." You can also limit by date range. For this topic, limiting to the latest 2 years retrieves a number of citations to dissertations/final projects.

The following screenshot shows examples of items that are found in organizational or academic repositories. The first item is in the Virginia Henderson repository. The other items are in repositories at universities; note the domain, .edu, is included in the URL and shown directly below the title of the work. You will need to examine the items carefully. In the example below, only the first and second citations are for doctoral projects. The 3rd item is a journal article, and the last item is an undergraduate honors project.