Main Page: NURS432 Nursing Capstone: Find Articles

Background Information: Begin Your Search Here

Textbooks or "point of care" summaries are good sources for background information.

Search the Nursing Reference Center to see if there is an Evidence-Based Care Sheet available for the topic. These are "point of care" summaries.

Example: Medication Errors-Inappropriate Prescribing of Antibiotics

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Note: Available on campus only.
An evidence-based resource that covers more than 7,300 topics in 13 medical specialties and includes more than 75,000 pages of text, graphics, links to Medline abstracts, more than 250,000 references, and a drug database.

Key Resources for Evidence-Based Information

Search for scholarly articles in the following databases:

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Complete is the most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. CINAHL Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature.
PubMed with Bryan Library Holdings This link opens in a new window
PubMed is provided by the National Library of Medicine covering the fields of Nursing, Anesthesia, Medicine and Health Professions. Click on the "Get it @ Bryan" button for access to full-text (if available) or the article request form.
Cochrane Collection This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Collection contains full text articles, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare. Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies.

The Cochrane Library Reference Guide:
http://www.workcast.com/ControlUsher.aspx?cpak=9621168547619827&pak=5334253650203132
Several videos about how to search the Cochrane Library.

Additional Resources for Evidence-Based Information

PEDro PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. PEDro is a free database of over 30,000 randomized trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
Health Evidence From McMaster University in Canada. Search this database for access to over 5,073 quality-rated systematic reviews evaluating the effectiveness of public health interventions.