Main Page: NURS337: Research &amp; Evidence Based Practice in Nursing: Find Articles & More

Key Resources for Evidence-Based Information

Search for scholarly articles in the following databases:

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Complete is the most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. CINAHL Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature.
PubMed with Bryan Library Holdings This link opens in a new window
PubMed is provided by the National Library of Medicine covering the fields of Nursing, Anesthesia, Medicine and Health Professions. Click on the "Get it @ Bryan" button for access to full-text (if available) or the article request form.
Medline Complete This link opens in a new window
Medline Complete is a full-text database that provides access to biomedical and health journals. It includes, most, but not all of the content that is in PubMed. NOTE: If you have difficulties connecting to the PubMed database, using a computer on the Bryan network, try Medline Complete.
Cochrane Collection This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Collection contains full text articles, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare. Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies.

The Cochrane Library Reference Guide:
http://www.workcast.com/ControlUsher.aspx?cpak=9621168547619827&pak=5334253650203132
Several videos about how to search the Cochrane Library.

PEDro PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. PEDro is a free database of over 30,000 randomized trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
Health Evidence From McMaster University in Canada. Search this database for access to over 5,073 quality-rated systematic reviews evaluating the effectiveness of public health interventions.

Practice guidelines and clinical guidelines are available from a wide variety of professional organizations.

AHRQ - Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
AHRQ supports health services research that will improve the quality of health care and promote evidence-based decisionmaking
ECRI Institute: Guidelines Trust
Google Guideline Search
This link will open a Google search for guideline-related words. At the end of the search string, you will need to add your own disease/procedure/etc. terms and then closely evaluate the quality and credibility of the results.
Effective Health Care Program
"The Effective Health Care (EHC) Program improves the quality of health care by providing the best available evidence on the outcomes, benefits and harms, and appropriateness of drugs, devices, and health care services and by helping health care professionals, patients, policymakers, and health care systems make informed health care decisions. The EHC Program achieves this goal by partnering with research centers, academic institutions, health professional societies, consumer organizations, and other stakeholders to conduct research, evidence synthesis, evidence translation, dissemination, and implementation of research findings."

Searching for additional organizations? An extensive list is available from MedlinePlus: https://medlineplus.gov/organizations/orgbytopic_a.html