The BCHS Library subscribes to several different databases.
The search box on the library homepage is for the Fusion database; it searches many different databases simultaneously. Depending on the class and specific course assignment, Fusion can be very useful, especially if the assignment requires literature related to health policy or education. For topics related to anesthesiology and clinical medicine, the best database to use is PubMed. When searching for articles for the scholarly project, it is highly recommended that individual databases (e.g. PubMed, CINAHL Complete) are searched, NOT Fusion.
For more information about literature searching, check out this article in the AANA Journal:
Gerberi D, Marienau MS. Literature Searching for Practice Research. AANA Journal. 2017;85(3):195-204. https://ezproxy.bryanlgh.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=ccm&AN=123551105&site=eds-live&scope=site&custid=s92346347&group=main
Using Google Scholar
When searching for articles, Google Scholar (http://scholar.google.com/) can be used as a supplement. Unlike PubMed or other databases, there is no quality control in terms of the content that is retrieved in a search. Results may include citations to journal articles, books/book chapters, conference papers, dissertations, or scholarly work that has been deposited in institutional repositories. Evaluate search results carefully. Refer to the "Evaluating Journal Quality" tab for more information about how to evaluate academic journals.
A useful feature of Google Scholar is there may be full-text links to articles that may not be reflected in database searches in PubMed or other databases. You can also customize the settings to show a "Find it @ BCHS" when full-text may be available via the BCHS library. In the example below, there are several articles with [PDF] or an [HTML] link to the right. The 4th item shows an example of the "Find it @ BCHS" link. Click on the PDF at the top of this box for instructions on how to set the library link.
