Main Page: Nurse Residency Program Resources: Find Articles &amp; More

Background Information: Begin Your Search Here

Textbooks or "point of care" summaries are good sources for background information.

Nursing Reference Center
Looking for a brief overview or summary? Check out the Nursing Reference Center for Evidence-based Care Sheets and Quick Lessons. These are also available in CINAHL.

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
UpToDate is an evidence-based, physician-authored resource than can be used to make point-of-care decisions. UpToDate documents provide evidence-based recommendations based on the latest, best evidence from journal literature and trusted professional organizations.

eBook Collection from the Bryan Library
A collection of e-books that includes a variety of topics related to nursing and health care.

Search for scholarly articles in the following databases:

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window CINAHL's Advanced Search 'Evidence-Based Practice' option limits results to the following results types: -----Articles from evidence-based practice journals -----Articles about evidence-based practice -----Research articles (including systematic reviews, clinical trials, meta analyses, etc.) -----Commentaries on research studies (applying practice to research)

Cochrane Collection This link opens in a new window The Cochrane Collection contains full text articles, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare. Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies.
PubMed with Bryan Library Holdings This link opens in a new window
PubMed is provided by the National Library of Medicine covering the fields of Nursing, Anesthesia, Medicine and Health Professions. Click on the "Get it @ Bryan" button for access to full-text (if available) or the article request form.

PEDro PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. PEDro is a free database of over 30,000 randomized trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
Health Evidence From McMaster University in Canada. Search this database for access to over 5,073 quality-rated systematic reviews evaluating the effectiveness of public health interventions.

Practice guidelines and clinical guidelines are available from a wide variety of professional organizations.

AHRQ - Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
AHRQ supports health services research that will improve the quality of health care and promote evidence-based decisionmaking
ECRI Institute: Guidelines Trust
Google Guideline Search
This link will open a Google search for guideline-related words. At the end of the search string, you will need to add your own disease/procedure/etc. terms and then closely evaluate the quality and credibility of the results.
Effective Health Care Program
"The Effective Health Care (EHC) Program improves the quality of health care by providing the best available evidence on the outcomes, benefits and harms, and appropriateness of drugs, devices, and health care services and by helping health care professionals, patients, policymakers, and health care systems make informed health care decisions. The EHC Program achieves this goal by partnering with research centers, academic institutions, health professional societies, consumer organizations, and other stakeholders to conduct research, evidence synthesis, evidence translation, dissemination, and implementation of research findings."

Searching for additional organizations? An extensive list is available from MedlinePlus: https://medlineplus.gov/organizations/orgbytopic_a.html