Depending on your specific topic, the following databases will be the most useful. You can start with a search in Fusion, but it is recommended that you search individual databases so that you can utilize specialized limits and controlled vocabulary terms.
Academic Search Elite and Google Scholar are interdisciplinary resources.
Academic Search Elite is an academic database that includes many full text articles. It can be used to search for topics including the humanities, social sciences, education, computer science, political science, general science, health science, gender studies, psychology and psychiatry, ethnic and multicultural studies.
CINAHL Complete is the most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. CINAHL Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature.
Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
ERIC is an index to journal articles and reports on education. Some full text is available.
When searching for articles, Google Scholar can be used as a supplement. Unlike PubMed or other databases, there is no quality control in terms of the content that is retrieved in a search. Results may include citations to journal articles, books/book chapters, conference papers, dissertations, or scholarly work that has been deposited in institutional repositories. Evaluate search results carefully. Refer to the "Evaluating Journal Quality" tab for more information about how to evaluate academic journals.
A useful feature of Google Scholar is there may be full-text links to articles that may not be reflected in database searches in PubMed or other databases. You can also customize the settings to show a "Find it @ BCHS" when full-text may be available via the BCHS library. In the screenshot below, there are several articles with [PDF] or an [HTML] link to the right. The 4th item shows an example of the "Find it @ BCHS" link. Click on the PDF at the top of this box for instructions on how to set the library link.
