Find Articles & More - EBP - Evidence Based Practice for Graduate Students

Key Resources for Evidence-Based Information

Search for scholarly articles in the following databases:

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Complete is the most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. CINAHL Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature.
PubMed with Bryan Library Holdings This link opens in a new window
PubMed is provided by the National Library of Medicine covering the fields of Nursing, Anesthesia, Medicine and Health Professions. Click on the "Get it @ Bryan" button for access to full-text (if available) or the article request form.
Cochrane Collection This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Collection contains full text articles, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare. Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies.

PEDro PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. PEDro is a free database of over 30,000 randomized trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
Health Evidence From McMaster University in Canada. Search this database for access to over 5,073 quality-rated systematic reviews evaluating the effectiveness of public health interventions.
SAMHSA: Evidence-Based Practices Resource Center
SAMHSA is committed to improving prevention, treatment, and recovery support services for mental and substance use disorders.

Searching for additional organizations? An extensive list is available from MedlinePlus: https://medlineplus.gov/organizations/orgbytopic_a.html

Practice guidelines and clinical guidelines are available from a wide variety of professional organizations.

National Guidelines Clearinghouse (Funding to support AHRQ's National Guideline Clearinghouse (NGC) ended on July 16, 2018.) The National Guideline Clearinghouse™ (NGC), a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. NGC is an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
AHRQ - Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
AHRQ supports health services research that will improve the quality of health care and promote evidence-based decisionmaking
ECRI Institute: Guidelines Trust
NOTE: To search for guidelines on this site, you will need to create a free, ECRI account. ECRI was the primary contractor for the National Guideline Clearinghouse website.
Google Guideline Search
This link will open a Google search for guideline-related words. At the end of the search string, you will need to add your own disease/procedure/etc. terms and then closely evaluate the quality and credibility of the results.