Skip to main content

Citation Tools: Comparison Chart of Citation Managers

Comparison Chart of Citation Managers

 

EndNote Basic

Mendeley

RefMe

RefWorks

Zotero

URL

https://www. myendnote web.com

https://www. mendeley.com

/dashboard/

https://www.refme.com/i/us/#/

Library homepage /

https://www. zotero.org

Login/ registration required

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

 

Yes

Cost

Free (with limits)

More capacity available for cost

Free (with limits)

More capacity available for cost

Free

Free to Bryan Health students & employees (based on Library subscription)

Free (with limits)

More capacity available for cost

Web browser

All web browsers

Browser toolbars for IE & FireFox

 

All web browsers

“Save to Mendeley” applet for grabbing web content

Desktop application

All web browsers and apps

All web browsers

“RefGrab-It” bookmarklet works only with FireFox and IE

All web browsers.

Most seamless use in Firefox.

Desktop application

Where your database lives

Online

Online and on Mendeley Desktop (required)

Online

Online

Online and on Zotero Desktop

Adding citation details

Export from online databases:

EBSCO: direct export

PubMed: file export

Websites: Manual entry

 

Export from online databases:

EBSCO: RIS format

PubMed: save to Clipboard and use Applet to save.

Drag & drop PDFs to extract bib data

As of 6/15: Manual entry only.  Importing from databases may be available in the future

RefMe WebClipper (in Chrome only) for grapping website details

Export from online databases:

EBSCO: direct export

PubMed: file export

Websites: “Ref GrabIt” bookmarklet for Firefox & IE; manual entry for Chrome

Export from online databases:

EBSCO: direct export

PubMed: use “Save to Zotero” bookmarklet

Abstracts included with references

Yes

Yes

No

Yes

Yes

Use with word processors

Yes: Integrated

Word: Cite While You Write Plug-In

In-text AND Reference lists

Not sure if GoogleDocs, Open Office are supported

Yes: Integrated

Mendeley Cite-O-Matic plug-in

In-text AND Reference lists

Not sure if GoogleDocs, Open Office are supported

Copy and paste or Export to Word

In-text AND Reference lists

Yes: Integrated

Word: Write-N-Cite plug-in

In-text AND Reference lists

Can create your own format

Open Office output style

Yes: Integrated in Word & OpenOffice; Google Doc: drag and drop

APA formatting

Need to correct capitalization

Need to correct capitalization in Mendeley Desktop.

Need to edit within Word (delete retrieved from EBSCO  statements)

Yes.  Accuracy depends on accuracy of manual input of citation details

Largely good but sometimes needs editing:

Proper nouns

“Retrieved from” database statements need to be removed

Need to correct capitalization.

Store PDFs

Yes

2 GB

Yes – 2 GB

Can add notes, annotate and highlight PDFs

Open access PDFs imported from PubMed automatically

No

Yes

Yes

300 MB

Extract bib data from PDFs

No

Yes (watch for errors)

No

No

Yes (watch for errors)

Storage capacity

Up to 50,000 references

2 GB

Additional storage available for cost

Not stated

Unlimited

300 MB

Additional storage available for cost

Social net-working, sharing

Yes (sharing folders)

Yes: share & collaborate (private or public groups to share documents); newsfeed

Yes: Group Work

Yes: RefShare

Yes

Create & join research groups, public or private